Lucknow Super Giants name their vice-captain for IPL 2024, Krunal Pandya ignored for overseas star

Lucknow Super Giants might also be in trouble for their captaincy choice as the regular skipper KL Rahul is already in London for the treatment of a quadriceps injury.

Mathew K
New Update
LSG announce vice-captain for IPL 2024 (File Photo: X)

LSG announce vice-captain for IPL 2024 (File Photo: X)

In a recent line of developments ahead of IPL 2024, Lucknow Super Giants have announced their vice-captain ahead of the upcoming season of the tournament. The franchise made this official announcement on Thursday, February 29. A lot of cricket fans were expecting the all-rounder Krunal Pandya to be named as the vice-captain of LSG for IPL 2024 but the management came up with a different decision.

The star Caribbean batter Nicholas Pooran will be fulfilling the responsibilities as the deputy of KL Rahul in the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League. The star wicketkeeper-batter recently led the MI Emirates to clinch the first-ever title victory with a win in ILT20 2024.

The Southpaw also played an exemplary knock with the bat in the summit clash of the tournament, smashing 57 runs off just 27 balls. He also ended up as the second-leading run-scorer in the 2024 edition of ILT20, aggregating 354 runs in 10 innings, with an amazing average of 50.57.

Lucknow Super Giants shared the news of Nicholas Pooran getting appointed as vice-captain in a tweet, where the Caribbean star can be seen with LSG skipper KL Rahul, having a jersey named “Nicholas Pooran (VC)” over it.

“KL Rahul (C), Nicholas Pooran (VC), this season feels special already,” read the caption of the post shared by LSG from the official X-handle (formerly Twitter).

Here’s a look at the LSG squad for the Indian Premier League 2024:

KL Rahul (captain), Quinton de Kock, Nicholas Pooran, Ayush Badoni, Kyle Mayers, Marcus Stoinis, Deepak Hooda, Devdutt Padikkal, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Krunal Pandya, Yudhveer Singh, Prerak Mankad, Yash Thakur, Amit Mishra, Mark Wood, Mayank Yadav, Mohsin Khan, K. Gautam, Shivam Mavi, Arshin Kulkarni, M. Siddharth, Ashton Turner, David Wiley, and Mohd. Arshad Khan.

KL Rahul-led LSG will play their first match in IPL 2024 against Rajasthan Royals in Jaipur on Sunday, March 24, 2024.

Indian Premier League Featured IPL 2024