'Dil khus kar diya ladkiyo ne' - Fans react as Mumbai Indians beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 7 wickets in to register third win in WPL 2024

Royal Challengers Bangalore have now fallen to the fourth spot of the points table in the ongoing WPL 2024 after the second consecutive defeat in the tournament.

Mathew K
New Update
Royal Challengers Bangalore Women lost to Mumbai Indians (File Photo: X)

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women lost to Mumbai Indians (File Photo: X)

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women faced their second consecutive defeat in the ongoing Women’s Premier League 2024 as they lost to Mumbai Indians Women by 7 wickets. Both teams locked horns in the 9th match of the tournament at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Saturday, March 2.

Mumbai Indians skipper Nat Sciver-Brunt won the toss and asked the hosts Bengaluru to bat first; batting first, RCB Women had a miserable start as they lost their first four wickets just at the score of 42 runs in 8.2 overs.

Later, they could manage to score only 131 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in the allotted 20 overs, thanks to the 44-run knock played by Ellyse Perry off 38 balls, with 5 fours. Other than her, it was only Georgia Wareham who showed a bit of intent and scored 27 runs off 20 balls, with 3 fours.

Stand-in skipper Nat Sciver-Brunt and Indian spinner Pooja Vastrakar scalped 2 wickets each for MI Women, alongside one wicket each picked by Issy Wong and Saika Ishaque.

Amelia Kerr gets the  job done for Mumbai Indians Women

While chasing the target, the Mumbai Indians Women got a fiery start of 45 runs in just 3.5 overs by the opening pair of Yastika Bhatia and Hayley Matthews; Bhatia scored 31 runs off just 15 balls, with 4 fours and 2 sixes followed by Matthews who notched up 26 runs, with 3 fours and a six.

Furthermore, the star middle-order batter Amelia Kerr played a brilliant knock of 40 runs off just 24 balls, with 7 fours and unbeaten to help Mumbai Indians win the match by 7 wickets, scoring 133 runs for the loss of just 3 wickets in only 15.1 overs.

Sophie Devine, Georgia Wareham, and Shreyanka Patil were the only wicket takers for RCB Women in the second innings with one wicket each.

Here’s how fans reacted to the second successive defeat of Royal Challengers Bangalore in WPL 2024:




Twitter Reactions Mumbai Indians Royal Challengers Bangalore WPL 2024